In Overwatch , Competitive Mode is made for players who want to take the gaming experience seriously. To access this mode, you need to reach level 25 . So, you complete the first ten positioning matches and get used to the game. Check out the explanation of the ranks you can go up or down during each season.

Competition Points

As of season 6, some adjustments were made in the allocation of competition points, as the seasons became shorter. This means that players now earn more points for victory. In addition, when forming groups to participate in competitive matches, you can only join with other players up to 1000 points below or above you. But when your rank is Master or Grand Master, the limit is only 500 points . Check the table of points you need to earn to reach the corresponding ranks.
Rank Points Reward
Bronze 1 - 1499 65
Silver 1500 - 1999 125
Gold 2000 - 2499 250
Platinum 2500 - 2999 500
Diamond 3000 - 3499 750
Master 3500 - 3999 1250
Grand Master 4000 - 5000 1750

Update your rank

During each season, you can win or lose points due to several factors, the most obvious being the result of the matches in which you participate. Check out all the variables that can affect your point updates.

Factors affecting points gain or loss

  • Individual performance: the better your performance during the match, the more points you get. You can get an idea of ??your progression by checking the medals you earn.
  • Wins or defeats: You earn points with each victory and lose points with each defeat.
  • Decline: from Diamond rank, you need to play at least five games a week to maintain your rank.


At the beginning of each season, you need to participate in ten matches to be placed in an initial rank . If all goes well, you are expected to be in a rank similar to the one you won last season. However, placements can go wrong and you may initially be in a lower rank.


Players can be relegated if they are unable to maintain at least the minimum points required by their rank. That is, after five consecutive defeats, the game will update its current rank. And if you have fewer points than are required at the minimum level, you will be relegated to the lower rank . In any case, your competitive points in the next position will always be earned according to the highest rank you reached the previous season. Therefore, if you reach Platinum, but end the season in Gold, you will be placed with an equivalent number of Platinum rank points.


If you are placed in Diamond rank or above, there is a slight loss of points if you stop playing more than five consecutive days . If you do not meet this requirement, you will lose 25 points a day.

Leave a Reply